#Chardonnay Day Recap

The wine was flowing and the fingers a-typing to commemorate the day of the chard.

While I am an avid wine drinker, I have never been a huge chardonnay drinker (I always left that to my mom). With a bad rap of tasting like you are gnawing on a tree or drinking butter cream – or that is only for Cougars (great article by Indie Vinos), I have frequently overlooked the variety, especially if I’m paying. But to participate in the world-celebration of chardonnay day, I opened my mind and mouth for some new Oregon chards.

The Slate

Held at TheSlate, a trendy Portland car display room/community space with spray-paint, stenciled records hanging on the wall, the Taste and Tweet had a hip, open feel very fitting for the social media wine event. Hosted by Indie Vinos, an online wine-venture to bring hard-to-find artisan wines directly to the public through the website, I heard about the event through Twitter, which I admit I have become sickenly addicted to – I think I check my Klout score almost more than the scale. One of my followers @KarinMcKercher, who works for Indie Vinos, sparked my interest with a tweet mentioning the evening. One it was free, two it was about wine, and three I was free so why not. Additionally I’ve always wanted to meet other tweeter and wine peoples, so after a half day of work I made the trek two hours north.

With only two hours to taste, the wine aficionado and tweeters attacked 15 different artisan Oregon Chardonnays with smart phones in hand. Using hashtags #chardonnay and #IVTnT to follow the chatter, the battle was drawn – to oak or not to oak, that is the question.

The tasting included Chardonnay’s by:

Kramer Vineyards (Follow @kimkramerwine)

Thistle (Follow @Thistle_Wines)

Durant Vineyards (Follow @OregonOliveMill)

Adelsheim (Follow @Adelsheim)

Winderlea Vineyard and Winery

Chehalem (Follow @chehalemwines)

Stoller Vineyards (Follow @Stoller_Vineyards)

LongPlay (Follow @LongplayWine)

Pudding River Wine Cellars (Follow @puddingriver)

Apolloni Vineyards (Follow @apolloniwine)

Seven of Hearts (Follow @7ofheartswine)

Ayoub

So what style won the battle? It’s up in the air. It’s like what Aron Hess, the winemaker for Longplay said, “wine is kind of like music – it’s a question of taste.”

Top Tweets of the Night

@NWWines: #IVTnT#Chardonnay @Adelsheim 09 Willamette Valley 86% stainless taste nice acid soft berry http://twitpic.com/52yxwn

@PDXfoodcarts: This 2009 #chardonnay from Adelsheim would go great with fishy chips from @EuroTrashCart #ivtnt

@oenoblog: INOX #Chardonnay from @chehalemwines #ivtnt brilliant clear water white gold

@Anna_V: The crowd is loosening up at the #chardonnay speed tasting wonder why? #closeproximity #yummywine #ivtnt

@bottlescene: And @chehalemwines 09 Ian’s Res. #chardonnay has a beautifully complex nose…I almost don’t want taste it…almost ;) #ivtnt #orwine

@nwwines: #IVTnT #Chardonnay 07 SV Estate Chard @Stoller_Winery nice soft oak on nose smooth Finnish http://twitpic.com/52z2ss

@oenoblog: 08 @longplay jory slope #chardonnay clean lots of candied tropical fruit caramel some creaminess #ivtnt

@KelseyIvey & @Anna_V: So super cute these #chardonnnay boys #maybetimetoslowdown #ornot #ivtnt ;)

@oenoblog: Next is @puddingriver 08 #chardonnay clear bright medium deep straw yellow. Tropical banana caramel and marshmallow #ivtnt

@OregonOliveMill: RT @nwwines: #IVTnT #Chardonnay Durante Vineyards 09 Chard Dundee Hills @OregonOliveMill tropical nose, toasty nice Finnish

@dieselboi: New fan of @puddingriver. They have a rooster on their label.#chardonnay #ivtnt

@dieselboi: Drinking some @apolloniwine. When I see the name, I think of purple rain.@appolonia #chardonnay #ivtnt

@bottlescene: Sean Driggers & his 2 #Chardonnay efforts. Great work on both! 07 reserve is my unique wine o the night…so far! #ivtnt http://t.co/zX5PrbQ

@decoywine: RT @Anna_V: The room erupts with friendly conversation #chardonnay as social lubricant #ivtnt

@AyoubWines: RT @oenoblog: 09 Ayoub #chardonnay clear bright gold. Soft nose creamy vanilla pear. Dry great length fresh yellow apple candiepear vanilla. #ivtnt

@KelseyIvey: Favorite thing about the #IVTnT #Chardonnay tasting with @indievinos is tasting #Wine with others with huge wine vocabularies.

Recap

By the end of the night (at least for me, since I needed to drive back to Eugene) our group of wine-tweets had the hashtag #IVTnT trending in Portland. (@TrendsPortland: @ivtnt is now trending in #Portland http://trendsmap.com/us/Portland)

And as @HarvestMari tweeted “You guys, I might be a #Chardonnay believer,” I think I may be converted as well. Go Oregon Chardonnays!